Events

Neptune/Triton System Seminar Series

Discussing recent developments in topics related to the Neptune & Triton system

Each seminar will host a guest speaker, followed by a lively discussion and community updates & news.

Events are held on the second Tuesday of the month at 3:00 PM GMT (8:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM ET)

Please register at least one day in advance of the seminar.

Stay Informed

Join the seminar eNews list to receive updates about future events.

If you no longer wish to receive Neptune Triton Seminar eNews, please click here to be taken to the unsubscribe page.

Upcoming Events

November 9, 2021 11:00 - 12:00 EST

Neptune/Triton System Seminar Series: Dr. Ravit Helled

Zoom

Presenter: Dr. Ravit Helled (University of Zurich)
Topic: The Origin, Evolution, and Structure of Uranus & Neptune
Abstract: The true nature of Uranus and Neptune is unknown. l will briefly summarize the current-knowledge about Uranus and Neptune with a focus on their formation, thermal evolution, and internal structure. I will discuss the challenge in explaining the formation of these planets and present formation scenarios that can explain the observed planetary properties. I will next discuss the possibility and outcomes of giant impacts on Uranus and Neptune and present non-standard internal structure and evolution models of the planets. I will show that both planets are expected to have non-adiabatic interiors with no-distinct layers. Finally I will question whether Uranus and Neptune are indeed "icy" planets.

Register Now >

Questions? Jodi.Berdis@jhuapl.edu

January 11, 2022 11:00 - 12:00 EST

Neptune/Triton System Seminar Series: Dr. Corey Cochrane

Zoom

Presenter: Dr. Corey Cochrane (NASA JPL)
Topic: TBD

Register Now >

Questions? Jodi.Berdis@jhuapl.edu